Popi Sarmiñ Award

This Dree, Popi Sarmiñ Society (PSS) has decided to felicitate the fellow Apatanis’ in the form of Popi Sarmiñ Award, who has contributed to the society in the field of Arts, Culture & Literature in a glittering function at Dree Ground, Pappu Nallah, Itanagar. The awardee will be selected based on the criteria viz., Originality, quality, quantum of works, creativity and innovativeness in the field of Apatani Tradition & Custom.

Apart from hosting the Popi Sarmiñ Award, the Popi Sarmiñ Society (PSS) would also organize art exhibition by Mr. Roto Tadi, who will showcase Apatani Artifacts in the exhibition.

So, Come…and..be part of the event.

Popi Sarmin Awards & Musical Nite

Venue: Dree Ground, Pappu Nallah, Itanagar

Date: 3rd of July, 2013

Time: 6:00 PM onwards

Posted in Announcement | Comments closed

Kije Tanii Aguñ Chiñsa-I, II & III now Available for Download

The 5th edition of “Kije Tani Aguñ Chiñsa – Book-I, II & III for the students of Class-VI, VII & VIII will be released during this “Myoko” at Hong, Ziro in a formal function and will be supplied to DDSE, Ziro for the academic session 2013-14.

The chapters of the latest edition of “Kije Tani Aguñ Chiñsa” Book has been devised following the NCERT norms.

The book “Kije Tani Aguñ Chiñsa” was first introduced by PSS during the year 2000 in the schools at Apatani plateau following Governtment of Arunachal Pradesh’s decision to introduce own language in the schools.

For the benefit of common masses, the e-version of the latest editions “Kije Tani Aguñ Chiñsa” is being made available for download. For those, who want hard copy of these books, the same can be purchased at M/s A.B. Book Stall, E-Sector, Naharlagun, Arunachal Pradesh by paying INR 50/- per book or may contact Chairman, PSS for the same.

Also posted in News | Leave a comment

Leegang Tachang Passes Away

Leegang-TachangPopi Sarmin Society deeply mourns the untimely demise of Leegang Tachang who passed away today at 11.00 am at Fortis Hospital, Noida. He is survived by his wife and a daughter and two sons.
Rashtriya Rattan & International Gold Star Millennium Awardee in the field of Socio-Cultural and Education, he was one of the founder members and first convener of PSS. A multi-talented personality, he was active in the field of arts, cinema, music, fashion, socio-cultural and education. He was a composer, lyricist, singer and an actor.
He acted in “Donyi” (Hindi) – the first VHS feature film of Arunachal Pradesh and “Meri Zindagi” (Hindi)-2nd VHS feature film of Arunachal Pradesh in a lead role and composed the song for the same films. He also worked with Bharatbala and Kanika who produced “Vande Mataram”.
Popi Sarmin Vol-I & II, Dree, Aha & Piimi Ri are few of the notable audio albums for which he wrote the lyrics, composed and lent his voice to. Apart from that he was instrumental in organizing and choreographing the first ever traditional fashion show at Ziro-“Transetter” during the year 1997 and 1999.
At the time of his demise he was holding the post of Director of Frontier School Ziro.

Posted in Announcement | Leave a comment

9th Annual Conference

The 9th Annual Conference-cum-General Body meeting was successfully organised on 6th of October, 2012 at Hotel Arun Subansiri, Itanagar.

The members present unanimously selected new Executive Body of PSS for the year 2012-13.

Executive Members for the year 2012-2013:-

1. Chairman Habung Tago
2. Vice Chairman Tage Mobin
3. Secretary Art Roto Tadii
4. Assistant Secretary Art Punyo Chobin
5. Secretary Songs & Audio Nako Hana
6. Assistant Secretary Songs & Audio Hage Tajo
7. Secretary Dance & Drama

Dogin Tabyo
8. Assistant Secretary Dance & Drama

Tage Appa

Hage Bapu

9. Secretary Cinema & Visuals
Hage D Appa
10. Assistant Secretary Cinema & Visuals
Hage Ering
11. Secretary Literature Tasso Kano
12. Assistant Secretary Literature

Hage Habung
13. Secretary Finance Radhe Tadu
14. Assistant Secretary Finance Hibu Kancha
15. Chief Auditor Nani Lalyang
16. Co-Auditor

Rubu Mobing
17. Secretary Women Wing Mrs. Hage Anya (Koj)
18. Assistant Secretary Women Wing

Mrs. Hage Yarang (Dani)
19. Secretary Publicity & Spokeman

Gyati Rana
20. Secretary Online Publicity

Gyati Aapa

Extended Executive Body for the year 2012-13

1. Secretary to Chairman Taku Hailyang
2. Secretary to Secretary Art

Tage Tanyo
3. Secretary to Secretary Songs & Audio

Mudang Elyu
4. Secretary to Secretary Dance & Drama

Hage Komo
5. Secretary to Secretary Literature

Mihin Kaning
6. Secretary to Secretary Finance Koj Tajo
7. Secretary to Chief Auditor

Punyo Gura
8. Secretary to Secretary Women Wing

Ms. Habung Mona
9. Secretary to Secretary Publicity & Spokesman

Bullo Tatu
10. Secretary to Secretary Online Publicity

Roto Chobin


Posted in Announcement | Comments closed

Annual Conference

The annual conference of PSS will be held at Hotel Arun Subansiri, Itanagar on 6th of October, 2012.

Posted in Announcement | Comments closed